GLBA: The Gay & Lesbian Business Association of Santa Barbara
Humanitarian Awards

Humanitarian AwardsSince 1986, the GLBA Humanitarian Awards honor those who have made significant outstanding contributions to the gay & lesbian community on the local, regional, or national level beyond the normal scope of employment in the areas of civil rights, public policy and education.

The selection process begins with public nominations via our online form. Nominations are reviewed by a selection committee directed by the GLBA Board of Directors.

Nominations are reviewed based upon broad criteria and may consider: Significance of contribution, Broad effect of the contribution, and Length of service to the community.

Humanitarian Award recipients receive community and media recognition, special awards, and are featured honorees at the Annual GLBA Humanitarian Awards Celebration.

Past Recipients
2009 John Chufar - Lifetime Achievement Award
Mayor Marty Blum - Lifetime Achievement Award
Jill Shalhoob - Business Award
The Great Outdoors - Community Award
And special guests:
Rev. Troy Perry & Phillip De Blieck
Founders, Metropolitan Community Church

Robing Tyler & Diane Olson* - Lifetime Achievement Award
Gloria Allred* - Lifetime Achievement Award
Paul Guido - 2008 Humanitarian Award
Wild Cat Lounge - Bob & Dawn - Business Award
The Crawford Idema Family Foundation - Philanthropic Award
Cliff Marcinkiewicz - HIV/AIDS Community Award
Outrageous Film Festival - Cultural Award

Robing Tyler & Diane Olson are 2 of the original plaintiffs in the marriage equality lawsuit that lead to the landmark ruling by the California Supreme Court that recognized our fundamental rights and made an unprecedented declaration that sexual orientation is a legally protected class from discrimination. Gloria Allred is the courageous attorney who represented them pro bono beginning an odyssey that began in Beverly Hills Municipal Court and went all the way to the Supreme Court.

2003 Terry Leftgoff: Lifetime Achievement Award
Anti-Defamation League of Santa Barbara: GLBA Humanitarian Award
Robert Pearson: GLBA John Chadbourne Award
Kaleidoscope Flowers: GLBA Business Award Award
2002 Janet Stanley
Bruce Vilanch
The Girl Scouts of SB County
Gazebo Plants & Flowers
2001 Ivy Bottini: Lifetime Achievement Award
Rhonda Parks Manville
Rabbi Richard Shapiro
Marian Bankins
Hal Vissar
A Fascinating Rhythm Dance Center

State Assemblymember Sheila Kuehl: GLBA Humanitarian Award For outstanding service in the area of public policy in the service of her community. Then serving as the highest ranking openly gay elected member of state government, many remember Sheila as 'Zelda' in the Dobie Gillis television show. But Zelda grew up to be the Speaker Pro Tem of the State Assembly and a passionate advocate, influential role model and knowledgeable lawmaker and attorney. After receiving our Award, Sheila was elected to became the first open lesbian elected to the California State Senate.

Stephen Singleton: GLBA Humanitarian Award A true 'unsung hero', Steve has been a constant source of support and quiet inspiration in our community. Through the example he demonstrates in his business ventures and the commitment he brings to community leadership, Steve has left a lasting mark on Santa Barbara that we are privileged to enjoy.

Rev. Mark Asman: Special GLBA Chadbourne-Drost Award For the special courage and dignity Mark has shown as he moved the minds and hearts of his congregation as he came out as an openly gay priest.

Elizabeth Shoemaker: GLBA Lifetime Achievement Award: For her lifetime of achievement in her business and personal life which has deeply enriched Santa Barbara and made us proud.

Mousse Odile: GLBA Business Award For steadfast support and unwavering commitment to the gay and lesbian community.

American Airlines: GLBA Business Award For groundbreaking achievement in gay-sensitive employment practices, targeted gay niche marketing efforts, and corporate domestic partners policies for their gay and lesbian employees which have set a new standard in the airline industry.

1999 Jon Gathercole & Claude Raffin: Lifetime Achievement Award
Robert Johns
Sue Van Horsen
George Delmerico
Keith Coffman-Grey
Chameleon Restaurant & Bar
1998 Leslie Brtek
Linda Tuomi
Gary Mosel
David Selbert
Freedom Signs: Suzy Williams & Betsy Harris
1997 Hathor Hammett
Stephen Logan
Steven Warner
David Selberg
1996 Jerry Cartier
Lani Hendrick
Laura Smith
Chuck Mace
Debbie McQuade
Kathy Hoxie
1995 Susan Dalton
Michael Loewy
Joseph Rund
Tersita Maria Soto
Dr. James Michalak
Zora Creators: Lori Priestley & Kirsten Zecher

1994 Carol Crump
Cheri Gurse
Matthew Gary Mutchler
Sal Fuentes
Corey Dubin
SB Women's Political Committee

1993 Harriet Miller
Audrey Caspary
Mark Quinn
Steven Sharpe
Lauren Wyeth
Mitch Kincannon
1991 Mark Grotke
David Olivera
Beth Schneider
Daniel Hiatt
Alice Heath
1990 Ron Alexander
Virginia Uribe
Cheryl Walter
Joanne Talbot
Nanci Self
Andrew Winzelberg
1987 Senator Gary K. Hart
Malcolm McCabe
Susan McGreivey
Matianna Grogin
Andrew Gersoff M.D.
Jamey Frank

1986 Assemblyman Art Agnos
Karen O'Hara
Stephen Hosea M.D.
Jerry White
Anne Wood
Become a Sponsor

Join the many prominent local and national businesses in supporting the scholarship fund. By becoming a sponsor of the GLBA Humanitarian Awards, your gifts are directed into the scholarship fund to assist students achieve what may previous have been out of reach. Your logo is displayed on a banner during the award ceremony, on our printed event material, and also on our website along with your link.

Cash donations go the farthest in achieving our objectives in the scholarship funds, but we are happy to accept goods and services that faciliate our awards ceremony or other operations.

For information on how to become a sponsor, please call John Chufar at (805) 684-4442 or use our contact form.



website developed and maintained by design and hosting

listed in Gay Lesbian Directory


GLBA The Gay & Lesbian Business Association of Santa Barbara